

# **CITY OF MANSFIELD**

1200 E. Broad St. Mansfield, TX 76063 mansfieldtexas.gov

# **Meeting Minutes - Final**

# **Planning and Zoning Commission**

Monday, June 1, 2020 6:00 PM

**City Hall Council Chambers** 

This meeting was open to the public and conducted by video conferencing with access to the public.

## 1. CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Wilshire called the meeting to order at 6:05 p.m. in the Council Chambers of City Hall, 1200 East Broad Street, with the meeting being open to the public and notice of said meeting, giving date, place, and subject thereof, having been posted as prescribed by Chapter 551, Texas Government Code.

Staff Present:

Matt Jones, Director of Planning Delia Jones, Planning & Zoning Secretary

Commissioners:

Absent 1 - Bob Klenzendorf

Present 5 - Wayne Wilshire; Anne Weydeck; Blake Axen; Kent Knight and Stephen Groll

### 2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Commissioner Weydeck made a motion to approve the May 4, 2020 minutes as presented. Commissioner Axen seconded the motion which carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Wayne Wilshire; Anne Weydeck; Blake Axen; Kent Knight and Stephen

Gr

**Nay:** 0

Absent: 1 - Bob Klenzendorf

Abstain: 0

20-3562 Minutes - Approval of the May 4, 2020 Planning and Zoning Commission

Meeting Minutes

#### 3. CITIZENS COMMENTS

None.

#### 4. CONSENT AGENDA

**20-3573** 

SD#20-018: Preliminary Plat of the View at the Reserve on approximately 108.10 acres by Sowell Reserve Associates L.P, owner; Trendmaker Homes DFW LLC, developer; and LJA Engineering, engineer

Jake Finch and Andrew Kubiak, representing the applicant, were available for questions.

Commissioner Weydeck made a motion to approve the plat with the open space/small lots to be maintained by the HOA. Vice-Chairman Knight seconded the motion which carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Wayne Wilshire; Anne Weydeck; Blake Axen; Kent Knight and Stephen

Groll

**Nay:** 0

Absent: 1 - Bob Klenzendorf

Abstain: 0

## 5. PUBLIC HEARINGS

<u>20-3578</u>

SUP#20-005: Public hearing for a request for a Specific Use Permit for apartments on approximately 8.08 acres known as Lot 3 and a portion of Lot 2R, Block 1, THR RTC, located at 269 N. SH 360; David S. Kulkarni of Guefen Development Partners, LLC on behalf of Jon M. Sullivan, Jr. of Texas Health Resources

Mr. Jones gave the Staff Presentation, power point presentation, and overview of the request. David Kulkarni, representing the applicant, continued the power point presentation and was available for questions.

Chairman Wilshire opened the public hearing and called for anyone wishing to speak to come forward.

Houston Mitchell spoke in opposition to the request noting that more retail is needed rather than more apartments.

Seeing no one else come forward to speak, Chairman Wilshire closed the public hearing.

After discussion, Commissioner Axen made a motion to approve the request with the following Staff Comments, 1) Exhibit A be updated to reflect the increase in acreage to 8.08 acres with the inclusion of a portion of Lot 2R; 2) the gas pipeline operators consent to the crossing and access points as shown; 3) the parking calculations shall be corrected to 1.32 spaces per unit and 1 space per bedroom; 4) the utility vehicle parking area shall be incorporated into the building envelope; and 5) a detailed rendering be provided for the paseo canopy; the paseo canopy shall include materials to match the design of

the buildings, add screening wall for trash compactor and consent by the gas operators. Vice-Chairman Knight seconded the motion which carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Wayne Wilshire; Anne Weydeck; Blake Axen; Kent Knight and Stephen

Nay: 0

Absent: 1 - Bob Klenzendorf

Abstain: 0

### 6. COMMISSION ANNOUNCEMENTS

None.

## 7. STAFF ANNOUNCEMENTS

None.

### 8. ADJOURNMENT OF MEETING

With no further business, Chairman Wilshire adjourned the meeting at 6:41 p.m.

Commissioner Weydeck made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Vice-Chairman Knight seconded the motion which carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Wayne Wilshire; Anne Weydeck; Blake Axen; Kent Knight and Stephen

Groll

**Nay:** 0

Absent: 1 - Bob Klenzendorf

Abstain: 0

Wayne Wilshire, Chairman

\_\_\_\_\_\_

Delia Jones, Planning & Zoning Secretary